Sportsmanship can take on many forms.


Yaakov Lasson shows off the trophy he received for winning the Jeff Fox Sportsmanship Award.
Yaakov Lasson shows off the trophy he received for winning the Jeff Fox Sportsmanship Award.

For Yaakov Lasson, sportsmanship this season in the Inter-Congregational Men’s Club Summer Softball League meant, in his words, taking ownership of his Young Israel of Southfield team off the field.

He took it upon himself many weeks to make sure the team had enough players to compete.

Most players on the team’s roster live in Southfield. Many games were played a substantial drive away at Community Sports Park in West Bloomfield.

“Yaakov showed a tremendous dedication to the team,” said Young Israel of Southfield manager Daniel Khodorkovsky.

“I wanted to be a positive, consistent member of the team,” Lasson said.

Lasson became a member of a prestigious group this season. He’s the latest winner of the league’s Jeff Fox Sportsmanship Award, named for a former Temple Shir Shalom player who died in 2011.

Lasson said he was honored to receive the award. He’s a big fan of the league.

“It’s a great opportunity for players to connect with people from other synagogues,” he said. “Our guys love playing in the league.”

Young Israel of Southfield won the playoff championship in the Rosen Division after going 7-10-1 during the regular season.

When he isn’t playing softball, Lasson is the rabbi at the Fleischman Residence/Blumberg Plaza of Jewish Senior Life of Metropolitan Detroit in West Bloomfield.

Each Inter-Congregational Softball League team is asked to nominate a player for the Fox Award, and the winner is selected at random.

Here were the other nominees for 2018 and their teams:

  • Temple Israel No. 1 — Loren Blumberg.
  • Temple Israel No. 2 — Ryan Schneider.
  • Temple Israel No. 3 — Mark Jacobs.
  • Temple Israel No. 4 — Jonathon Frohlich.
  • Temple Israel No. 5 — Mark Riley.
  • Temple Israel No. 6 — Nathan Cohen.
  • Temple Shir Shalom No. 1 — Matt Steyer.
  • Temple Shir Shalom No. 2 — Dan Knauss.
  • Adat Shalom Synagogue No. 2 — Zach Rich.
  • Congregation Shir Tikvah — Josh Rusgo.
  • Temple Beth El — Andy Broder.
  • Temple Kol Ami/B’nai Israel Synagogue — Evan Chudnow.
  • Congregation Shaarey Zedek — Alex Gruskin.
  • Temple Beth Ahm — Ryan Baxter.
  • Congregation B’nai Moshe — Joey Yashinsky.
  • Bais Chabad Torah Center — Jacob Taylor.

The league’s fall season began Sunday at Community Sports Park. There are six teams. Each has players from different synagogues.

For more information on the league, go to

Off To Waterford

The Brotherhood-Eddie Jacobson B’nai B’rith bowling league is on the move. At least for one season.

After 32 seasons at Country Lanes in Farmington Hills, the league will set up shop at 300 Bowl in Waterford during the 2018-2019 season.

The league finished its 2017-2018 season at 300 Bowl after Country Lanes closed temporarily because of the death of its owner.

So, a decision had to be made. Stay at 300 Bowl or return to Country Lanes? League spokesman Gary Klinger said league members voted 60 percent to 40 percent to go to 300 Bowl.

“It was a big decision. There were pros and cons on both sides,” Klinger said. “The bottom line is going back to Country Lanes is too risky right now. We’re going to 300 Bowl for one year. We’ll see what happens after this season.”

Klinger said the league lost a couple teams because team members would have had a longer drive to 300 Bowl than Country Lanes, but the addition of a few teams should keep the league’s lineup fairly stable.

Bowling will begin at 7:30 p.m., each Monday in the weekly league instead of 8:15 p.m. because of the increased travel time for many league bowlers.

“We should be done bowling by 10:15 or so each night,” Klinger said. “We were done about 11 each week at Country Lanes.”

Opening night will be Sept. 17.

Send news to